The Homework Package (updated 3/13/2019)

Weeks Dates Lectures NotesHomework
Week 1 Jan 7 Introduction to this course
video, notes
No HW
  Jan 9 The number system I
video, notes
HW1: 1.1, 1.2, and 1.3
Due Monday, Jan 14
  Jan 11 The number system II
video, notes
HW2: 1.4, 1.5 1.6, 1.7, and 1.9
Due Friday, Jan 18
Week 2 Jan 14 Boolean Algebra I
video, notes
HW3: 2.1 - 2.2
due Monday, Jan 21
  Jan 16 Class Cancelled Due to Snow
No HW
  Jan 18 Boolean Algebra II
video, notes
Quiz 1
HW4: 2.3 - 2.5
Due Wed, Jan 23
Week 3 Jan 21 Review, Feedback
video, notes

No HW
You can redo your HW1 or HW2 for a better grade if you like
  Jan 23 Logic Gates I
video, notes
Quiz 2
(Similar to Quiz 1)
No HW
  Jan 25 Logic Gates II
video, notes
Quiz 3
(Boolean Algebra)
Study for the comprehensive quiz on Monday, Jan 28
Week 4 Jan 28 NMOS and PMOS I
video, notes

No HW
  Jan 30 NMOS and PMOS II
video, notes
The CMOS Model File
Quiz 4 (take-home quiz)
(Boolean Algebra, Number Systems, and logic gates)
HW5: 3.1 and 3.2
Due Mon, Feb 4
  Feb 1 Review, Feedback
video, notes

HW6: 2.6 and 2.14
Due Wed, Feb 6
Week 5 Feb 4 The Inverter
video, notes
Quiz 5HW7: 3.5 and 3.6
Due Fri, Feb 8
  Feb 6 CMOS Logic Gates
video, notes
HW8: 3.7-3.9
Due Mon, Feb 11
  Feb 8 Binary Arithmetic and
2's Complement
video, notes
HW9: 1.10, 1.13, 1.14, and 1.17
Due Wed, Feb 13
Week 6Feb 11More 2's Complement
video, notes
No HW
  Feb 13 SOP and POS
video, notes
HW10: 1.18 and 2.10
Due Mon, Feb 18
  Feb 15 Class Cancelled Due to Snow
No HW
Week 7 Feb 18 Midterm Review
video, notes
Review your HW and quiz for the Midterm Exam on Wed. 
  Feb 20 Midterm Exam No HW
  Feb 22 Class Cancelled Due to Snow No HW
Week 8 Feb 25 The Karnaugh Map
video, notes

HW11: 4.1 and 4.4(a)
Due Fri, Mar 1
  Feb 27 Adders I
video, notes
HW12: 4.6
Due Wed, Mar 13
  Mar 1 Adders II
video, notes
No HW
Week 9 Mar 4 Spring Break
  Mar 6 Spring Break
  Mar 8 Spring Break
Week 10 Mar 11 2-bit CLA, Subtractor
video, notes
HW13: 4.9
Due Fri, Mar 15
  Mar 13 Multipliers, MUX I
video, notes
HW14: 5.10
Due Monday, Mar 18
  Mar 15 Review and MUX II
video, notes
No HW, Study for the Quiz
Week 11 Mar 18 MUX III
video, notes
Quiz 6No HW
  Mar 20 Decoder/Encoder I
video, notes
HW15: 5.2 and 5.3
Due Monday, Mar 25
  Mar 22 Static Hazard
video, notes
Week 12 Mar 25
  Mar 27
  Mar 29
Week 13 Apr 1
  Apr 3
  Apr 5
Week 14 Apr 8
  Apr 10
  Apr 12
Week 15 Apr 15
  Apr 17
  Apr 19
Week 16 Apr 22 Final Exam

Apr 24
Apr 26